Saturday, April 28, 2012

Chester Branch NAACP Annual Awards Dinner: Adult Recipients

(Left) Congressman Robert Brady and (Right) State Rep. Thaddeus Kirkland

At the 102nd Anniversary of the Chester Branch NAACP Awards Dinner, the following recipients were honored:

Congressman Robert Brady: The Judge Robert Wright Freedom Award, Congressman Brady, pictured above, is serving his 8 term and representing the First Congressional District. "Brady has been an unwavering advocate for legislation that supports the well-being of financially disadvantaged communities."

Janet Riley-Ford
Director of the Chester Youth Collaborative at Crozer Janet Riley-Ford: The President’s Award; awarded by the NAACP Chester Branch President to a citizen who exemplifies extraordinary leadership. CYC and its partner agencies have successfully increased the number of Chester youth served from 781 to 5100 at the Wellness Center.

Samuel Bernard, Sr.: The John Shelton, Sr. Freedom Award for "continued service within his community and St. Mary’s Church."

Myrna Russi: The Louis Brown Freedom Award, Ms. Russi is Community Outreach and Recruitment Coordinator for Women and Children’s Health Services at Crozer-Keystone Healthy Start Program and Coordinator for the Hispanic Resource Center at Community Hospital. 

Jeffery Cunningham: The Cecil W. Bond Freedom Award; Mr. Cunningham is actively involved as member of Shiloh Baptist Church and partners with Chester Eastside Ministries with their clothing and food banks.

Jan Alexander and Jill Borin of Widener University Wolfgram Memorial Library: The George Raymond Freedom Award; they archived NAACP photographs, documents, clippings, and scrapbooks under the tenure of President George Raymond.To view Click Here

Chester Upland School Teacher Sara Ferguson, who presented the youth awards, was surprised with the London B. Jones Award for "demonstrating extraordinary dedication and exemplary commitment to the students of the Chester Upland School District." If you recall, Ms. Ferguson was the teacher selected to represent Chester Upland teachers at the State of the Union Address in January. She was also on the Ellen Show and was the recipient of 100,000 dollars for the Columbus Elementary School where she works as a Math teacher. Ms. Ferguson also received a personal gift card from the Ellen Show.

Chester Branch NAACP Annual Awards Dinner: Youth Recipients

Pictured Chester High School Students: Amanda Outterbridge, Dorzella Newton, Jamie Harris, Anthony Reed, and Bill Walleelendeh

The NAACP 102nd Anniversary Dinner was held at the Ramada Inn, Essington on Friday, April 27, 2012. 

NAACP Youth Honorees were Awarded the following:  

Amanda Outterbridge: The Willie Mae James Leake Youth Award

Dorzella Newton: The Kiwanis Club of Chester Scholarship

Jamie Harris: The Gwendolyn J. Foster Youth Award and the Religious Society of Friends $4000 Scholarship

Anthony Reed: The James E. Cottrell Youth Award and the Kiwanis Club of Chester Scholarship

Bill Walleelendeh: The Delores R. Shelton Youth Award and PECO $1000 and $600 Scholarships

Other Youth Awards, not pictured, went to:

Clara Williams (Science and Discovery High School): The Anna Miller Youth Award and $500 Scholarship

John Lolly (DCCC): The Victor Bowes Youth Award and $1,500 Scholarship

Jalen A. J. Thompkins (Allied Health High School): The John Lee Mathis Youth Award and $1000 Kimberly-Clark Scholarship

Daland V. Dixon (Christian Academy): The Cora Lee Dixon Youth Award and $1,000 and $500 Scholarships. Daland also had his prom at the same time as the dinner but left with his prom date to attend the dinner. He later returned to the prom after his award.

Wednesday, April 25, 2012


Click to Enlarge

This year's event has a maximum capacity of 350, so we encourage all to register early!
Unfortunately, there will be no onsite registration and all participants will be required to pre-register for the event!

We currently have openings for informational vendors and workshop presenters!

For more information and to find out how you can get involved please contact:

The Chester Youth Council @ 610-497-7422 or visit us on the web @

Collaboration begins with you, Spread the Word!!!

The Chester Youth Council, "Changing perspectives and inspiring youth action in our community."

Philadelphia Eagles Youth Football Camps

Click to Enlarge
Visit or call 888-226-9919
for application

Monday, April 23, 2012

Earth Day

Happy Earth Day
And welcome to some well needed rain
Okay, time for sunshine again


The National Drug Take-Back Day provides an opportunity for the public to surrender expired, unwanted, or unused pharmaceutical controlled substances and other medications for destruction. These drugs are a potential source of supply for illegal use and an unacceptable risk to public health and safety. More than seven million Americans currently abuse prescription drugs, according to the 2009 Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration's National Survey on drug use and health.

Each day, approximently 2,500 teens use prescription drugs to get high for the first time, according to the Partnership for a Drug-Free America. Studies show that a majority of abused prescription drugs are obtained from family and friends, including the home medicine cabinet.
National Drug Take-Back Day is:
Saturday, April 28, 2012
10:00AM - 2:00PM 
Details about National Take-Back Day:
The program is anonymous.
Prescription and over the counter solid dosage medications (i.e. tablets and capsules) are accepted.
Intra-venous solutions, injectables, liquids, or needles will not be accepted.
Illicit substances such as marijuana or methamphetamine are not a part of this initiative.

 Delaware County Drop Off Locations
Aldan Borough: Aldan Police Department, 1 West Providence Rd. , Clifton Heights , PA
Brookhaven Borough: Brookhaven Municipal Center , 2 Cambridge Rd., Suite 200 , Brookhaven , PA
Eddystone Borough: Eddystone Lighthouse Hall, 1401 E. 9th St. , Eddystone , PA
Glenolden Borough: Glenolden Police Department, 38 Boon Ave. , Glenolden , PA
Marcus Hook Borough: Marcus Hook Community Center , 7 W. Delaware Ave. , Marcus Hook, PA
Marple Township: Giant Food Store, 2910 Springfield Rd. , Broomall , PA
Media Borough: Media Police Department, 301 N. Jackson St. , Media , PA
Middletown Township : PA State Police Baracks, 1342 W. Baltimore Pike, Media , PA
Nether Providence Township : Nether Providence Police Department, 214 Sykes Lane , Wallingford , PA
Radnor Township: Radnor Township Building, 301 Iven Ave.,  Wayne, PA AND Wayne Senior Center, 108 Station Rd., Wayne, PA
Ridley Park Borough: Ridley Park Police Department, 230 W. Chester Pike, Ridley Park , PA
Ridley Township: Ridley Township Police Department, 100 East MacDade Blvd., Folsom, PA
Sharon Hill Borough: Sharon Hill Borough Hall, 250 Sharon Ave. , Sharon Hill, PA
Springfield Township : Springfield Township Building , 50 Powell Rd. , Springfield , PA
Tinicum Township: Tinicum Township Police Department, 629 North Governor Printz Blvd. , Essington , PA
Upper Darby Township : Upper Darby High School , 601 Lansdowne Ave. , Upper Darby , PA
For more information and updated
collection location information, please visit:
Collection sites are added frequently
so be sure to check for updated sites often!