Saturday, April 28, 2012

Chester Branch NAACP Annual Awards Dinner: Youth Recipients

Pictured Chester High School Students: Amanda Outterbridge, Dorzella Newton, Jamie Harris, Anthony Reed, and Bill Walleelendeh

The NAACP 102nd Anniversary Dinner was held at the Ramada Inn, Essington on Friday, April 27, 2012. 

NAACP Youth Honorees were Awarded the following:  

Amanda Outterbridge: The Willie Mae James Leake Youth Award

Dorzella Newton: The Kiwanis Club of Chester Scholarship

Jamie Harris: The Gwendolyn J. Foster Youth Award and the Religious Society of Friends $4000 Scholarship

Anthony Reed: The James E. Cottrell Youth Award and the Kiwanis Club of Chester Scholarship

Bill Walleelendeh: The Delores R. Shelton Youth Award and PECO $1000 and $600 Scholarships

Other Youth Awards, not pictured, went to:

Clara Williams (Science and Discovery High School): The Anna Miller Youth Award and $500 Scholarship

John Lolly (DCCC): The Victor Bowes Youth Award and $1,500 Scholarship

Jalen A. J. Thompkins (Allied Health High School): The John Lee Mathis Youth Award and $1000 Kimberly-Clark Scholarship

Daland V. Dixon (Christian Academy): The Cora Lee Dixon Youth Award and $1,000 and $500 Scholarships. Daland also had his prom at the same time as the dinner but left with his prom date to attend the dinner. He later returned to the prom after his award.

No comments:

Post a Comment